Open Search


ASX: AU$ / %,

Senior Management changes

19 February 2014

Newcrest today announced changes to its senior leadership team in line with the focus on productivity improvement and cost reduction, and in preparation for the transition of Sandeep Biswas (Chief Operating Officer and Executive Director) to the role of Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer later this calendar year.

Executive General Manager (“EGM”) PNG Operations, Brett Fletcher, will be leaving Newcrest at the end of February 2014.  Brett has been with Newcrest for three years and has been variously responsible for the Morobe Mining JV, Gosowong and Lihir.

EGM Commercial & West Africa, Lawrie Conway, will be leaving Newcrest at the end of March 2014. Lawrie has been with Newcrest for over 10 years, and in his most recent role was accountable for supply and logistics, marketing, information technology and the West Africa business in Côte d’Ivoire.

Acting Chief Operating Officer, Craig Jones, assumes the role of EGM Australian Operations & Projects, reporting directly to Sandeep Biswas. Craig is responsible for the Cadia Valley and Telfer operations, Asset Management and Projects.

David Woodall has been appointed EGM International Operations, responsible for the Lihir, Indonesian and Côte d’Ivoire operations, reporting to Sandeep Biswas. David commences with Newcrest on 20 February 2014. David is a mining engineer and has a strong mining operations background, with almost 30 years in the industry, working for Australian and international mining companies.  David’s most recent role was Director of Operations at Fortescue Metals Group and his career includes operations roles with Placer Dome Inc., Glencore International, Sino Gold, Robe River, Altynalmas Gold and Western Mining Corporation.

Andrew Logan, previously EGM Technology, has no change to his responsibilities and will report to Sandeep Biswas, though he is no longer a member of the Executive Committee.

Following these changes, the Executive Committee of Newcrest will comprise:

• Greg Robinson – Managing Director and CEO
• Sandeep Biswas – Executive Director and COO
• Gerard Bond – Finance Director and Chief Financial Officer
• Craig Jones – EGM Australian Operations & Projects
• David Woodall – EGM International Operations
• Geoff Day – EGM Sustainability & External Affairs
• Debra Stirling – EGM People & Communications
• Colin Moorhead – EGM Minerals
• Francesca Lee – General Counsel and Company Secretary  (from 31 March 2014)

For further information, please contact:

Investor Enquiries

Steve Warner
T: + 61 3 9522 5493

Media Enquiries

Kerrina Watson
T: +61 3 9522 5593