Open Search


ASX: AU$ / %,

Newcrest Board Renewal

30 July 2015

Newcrest today announced four changes to the composition of its Board of Directors:
- the appointment of Xiaoling Liu as a Non-Executive Director, effective from 1 September 2015
the appointment of Roger Higgins as a Non-Executive Director, effective from 1 October 2015
- the resignation of Tim Poole as a Non-Executive Director, effective today; and
- the retirement of Vince Gauci as a Non-Executive Director, immediately after the next Newcrest Annual General Meeting on 29 October 2015.
Xiaoling Liu has extensive executive experience in leading global mining and processing businesses. Her last executive role was as President and CEO of Rio Tinto Minerals based in Denver, where she ran integrated mining, processing and supply chain operations in the United States, Europe and Asia. Prior to her last executive role, Xiaoling held senior management and operational roles at Rio Tinto throughout her career including President – Primary Metal Pacific, Managing Director – Global Technical Services, and General Manager Bell Bay Smelter. Xiaoling has a PhD in Extractive Metallurgy from Imperial College London and is a graduate of the Company Director’s course with AICD. She is a Fellow of AusIMM.
Roger Higgins also brings extensive experience leading mining companies and operations, and has deep working knowledge of Papua New Guinea as a current Non-Executive Director and a former Managing Director of Ok Tedi Mining in PNG. He is a Non-Executive Director of ASX-listed Metminco and Chair of the International River Foundation. In his most recent executive position, Roger served as Senior Vice President, Copper at Canadian metals and mining company, Teck Resources. Prior to this role, he was Vice President and Chief Operating Officer with BHP Billiton Base Metals CSG working in Australia and also held senior positions with BHP Billiton in Chile. Roger has a PhD in water resources from the University of NSW, a Master of Science from the University of Aberdeen, and a Bachelor of Engineering from the University of Queensland. He holds the position of Adjunct Professor with the Sustainable Minerals Institute, University of Queensland.
Newcrest Chairman Peter Hay welcomed Xiaoling Liu and Roger Higgins to the Board of Directors. “With their deep operational expertise, extensive senior executive experience and their global perspectives, I expect Xiaoling and Roger to make a tremendous contribution to the Newcrest Board,” said Mr Hay.
Non-Executive Director Tim Poole announced his resignation from the Newcrest Board. Peter Hay thanked Tim and paid tribute to Tim for his eight years on the Board of Newcrest, commending his strong contribution and level of engagement as a Director and member of both the Audit and Risk Committee and Human Resources and Remuneration Committee.
In addition, Vince Gauci has indicated his intention to retire from the Newcrest Board and not stand for re-election at the next Annual General Meeting. Peter Hay noted that there will be an opportunity at this year's Annual General Meeting to thank Vince for his years of excellent service.
Newcrest Chairman Peter Hay said: “This is the continuation of the Board renewal process that commenced with the appointment of Phil Aiken and myself during 2013 and will continue over the next few years to ensure an orderly transition and renewal of skills and experience.”


Investor Enquiries:

Christopher Maitland
T:   +61 3 9522 5717

Jon Gourlay
T:   +61 3 9522 5717

Media Enquiries
Rachel Eaves
T: +61 3 9522 5593